Guyana has a parliamentary government with a President as the Head of State. The Parliament consists of the President and the National Assembly which is made up of 65 elected members sitting in a unicameral chamber. The present Guyana Constitution also provides for representatives from the ten local regions.

The Prime Minister is the principal assistant of the President and leader of Government business in the National Assembly. In the absence of the President, the Prime Minister presides over the Cabinet.

Election of the President, members of the National Assembly, and members of the local regions are held at intervals of no more than five years. At present, four political parties are represented in the National Assembly. The People's Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/Civic) is the ruling party, forming the government. The minimum voting age is 18 years.